Aside
2

I suffer from Little Mommy Syndrome.

It’s a real thing.

Sometimes I feel like the diapers, the dishes, the laundry, the snacks, the stories, day in, day out add up to nothing. That nothing I do is really important. Special. Big. Because I’m just a little stay at home mom doing little things with my little kids in our little house.

But in my heart I know that isn’t really true.

I’m doing Big Work. Maybe the Biggest I’ve ever done.

This is the task at hand:

Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts. Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night. Tie them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder; inscribe them on the doorposts of your homes and on your city gates.

Deuteronomy 6: 6-9 (The Message)

Reading that verse nearly makes me weep. Every. Time.

Because it’s so Big. And I feel so Little.

I want my chidren to know and treasure the Word of God, the Mercy, the Love. To crave it.
And I want my children to pass that on Unimaginable Magnificence on to others. No empty chairs in heaven.

But first I’ve got to get this stuff inside of me. And then get it inside my children. And even though I feel like that task is daunting, I’m not alone. To do Big Work, I have to change my perspective. I’ve got the Almighy Creator of the Universe as my Boss. So now that that’s all worked out..

It’s time to go to work.

2 thoughts on “Little Mommy Syndrome

  1. Pingback: On My Heart | Little Mommy Big Work

  2. Pingback: The Business Plan | Little Mommy Big Work

Leave a comment